Episode 007: June 23, 2010 – Inkfish

I never get tired of saying it: Huge show this week. It’s full blown summer time, and we have some tunes to match the hot weather. Trafik has just released their Third studio album “None but the Brave” and although we’ve missed talking to them, Inkfish hops on the phone to talk about their latest single “Attercop” that is currently blowing my mind.


Stream or [download]

[audio:http://www.freshproduceonline.com/audio/podcast/freshproduce007_06-23-2010.mp3|titles=Fresh Produce: Episode 007 – June 23, 2010]


Also featuring music from Michael Woods, Jerome Isma-ae, Pig & Dan, and some massive-ness by Spooky. All on this week’s Fresh Produce – get some!


1. Inkfish – Attercop [Parquet Recordings]

The mysterious four-some from Sweden has proven that distinct points of view brought together can often lead to genius results. Inkfish is at their best here with their new single “Attercop”, and as Johan speaking for the group says, it’s an old English term fashioned for the new era. It’s a killer track, and it’s currently sitting firmly atop their most popular tracks.

[audio:http://www.freshproduceonline.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/attercop.mp3|titles=Inkfish – Attercop]


2. Pig & Dan  – Symphonies [Yoshitoshi Recordings]

Yoshitoshi proves they still have the muscle to pull in the best from the top guns in the field, and Pig & Dan make a regular appearance on Fresh Produce. This one is called “Symphonies” and showcases some retro-sounding synth melodies paired with some deliciously sparse drums and bassline. It’s the b-side to the hit track Mussian Rother, we thought this one deserved some love too.

[audio:http://www.freshproduceonline.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/symphonies.mp3|titles=Pig & Dan – Symphonies]


3. James Harcourt – Unpleasant Surprise (Popof remix) [Form]

A pairing of two of our favorite producers on this one,  the UK’s James Harcourt gets remixed by techno-smith Popof on a new version of the “Unpleasant Surprise EP” on the Frenchman’s own Form imprint. It’s drip-drop melody is perfect for the tough and dirty crowd, and we’re deffinitely eating it up. Top form from both.

[audio:http://www.freshproduceonline.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/unpleasant_surprise.mp3|titles=James Harcourt – Unpleasant Surprise (Popof remix)]


4. Robyn – Dancing on my Own (Michael Woods Instrumental remix) [Konichiwa Records]

Everyone say it together: Summer Bomb. Seriously – Michael Woods is making a serious case for Producer of the Year. Pair that with a former pop-superstar on the path for a comeback, and you’ve got a track we’re head over heals for. Robyn’s album is called “Body Talk Part 1”, it’s out on Konichiwa Records, and this monster is called “Dancing on My own”, the first official single. Play this one loud.

[audio:http://www.freshproduceonline.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/dancing_on_my_own.mp3|titles=Robyn – Dancing on my Own (Michael Woods Instrumental remix)]


5. Passenger 10 – Waterworld [Unreleased Digital]

Passenger 10, the Swiss duo most often known as Dinka, peddle their more chunky aggressive form of progressive here on the Unreleased Digital label that has been growing unstoppable with the Weekend Heroes and Daniel Portman batterymates. Waterworld has a simple melody and standout bassline – bubble-gum prog at it’s best.

[audio:http://www.freshproduceonline.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/waterworld.mp3|titles=Passenger 10 – Waterworld]


6. Boom Jinx & Andrew Bayer – To the Six (Martin Roth remix) [Anjunadeep]

Anjunadeep launches the first of their “Collection” series with a mix of tracks including this fantastic number from Martin Roth. He takes the vibey original from Boom Jinx and Andrew Bayer and gives it some serious teeth. Talk about your expansion/contraction techniques, Martin Roth let’s a fly wide open and then tightens down on that killer bassline like a vice grip. The german remix-rockstar is in top form.

[audio:http://www.freshproduceonline.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/to_the_six.mp3|titles=Boom Jinx & Andrew Bayer – To the Six (Martin Roth remix)]


7. DJ Mog & Mark Le Sal – Not For Long (Tyler Philo remix)

Up-and-coming UK prog producer Tyler Philo really steps up and proves that he can do the pop-progressive step with the rest of them. It’s all about hook here, and he takes a very raw electric-guitar and Fischerspooner-inspired original from DJ Mog & Mark le Sal and whips into a club anthem that is irresistable. If you’re going to sound like everyone else, you better make sure your hook is better than theirs…and it is. Catchy vocals are the icing on the cake.

[audio:http://www.freshproduceonline.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/not_for_long.mp3|titles=DJ Mog & Mark Le Sal – Not for Long (Tyler Philo remix)]


8. Jean-Claude Ades – My Journey (Jerome Ismae-ae remix) [Jee Productions]

Jean Claude Ades, typically known for a tougher electro or house sound plays perfectly here into Jerome’s skillset, which is probably why the fellow German-resident signed it to his own Jee Productions. Everything Jerome touches is gold. No exception here. He takes the melody and vibe and makes the most of out with his insistent style. You wave your hands if you want to.

[audio:http://www.freshproduceonline.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/my_journey.mp3|titles=Jean-Claude Ades – My Journey (Jerome Isma-ae remix)]


9. Spooky – Little Bullet [Rennaisance]

Well if you weren’t convinced of the emergence of Charlie May and the “big sound” he’s played before on our show, here’s further proof. Spooky is his group along with partner Duncan Forbes – they speak the same language, which isn’t surprising since they’ve known each other since childhood (If I remember my conversation with Charlie correctly), and the result of their synergy is pure massive-ness. One of the top top tracks we’ve heard this year. It’s out right now on Rennaissance, go and get it!

[audio:http://www.freshproduceonline.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/little_bullet.mp3|titles=Spooky – Little Bullet]


Trafik – Precog [Global Underground]

Trafik has truly been one of the most impactful acts of the last half-decade plus – not only are they Global Underground’s poster-boys, they’ve kept their status as heirs to the new breaks frontier, whjch they trailblaze with abandon on their third studio album “None but the Brave”. We’ve missed speaking with them today due to scheduling, but luckily the track here speaks for itself. It’s called “Precog” by Trafik, and it’s out on their “None but the Brave” album on Global Underground.

[audio:http://www.freshproduceonline.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/precog.mp3|titles=Trafik – Precog]


Thanks so much for reading and tuning in. More next week with some big-time guests, thanks to those who came on this week. Please feel free and encouraged to comment below, we love to hear from you! Think outside the genre box, buy your music, and Keep if Fresh. Till next time 😉